Giving Is Good For My Spirit!

Really! Sometimes I just want to give something to someone because it makes me feel good. Is that selfish? Or generous? Either way, I don’t give something because I want something in return, I do it because……because……….because….. just because!

I am one of those creative types who keeps stuff because you just never know when it might be useful! So many ideas of things to make or do & years can go by without using those shoeboxes full of grosgrain ribbon bows or old lace. Not enough mindless hoarding that a reality show would be made about me, but enough to know that I’m just not going to use everything.

Storage Carts

 

Through the years I’ve passed on items to Barb to use for 4H or scouts or other groups of kids. Other piles go to art teachers since they never really have enough supplies for all of their students. I take turns cycling through the thrift stores in the area: Doggy Shop, Christian Associates, Echo,  St. Vincent, St. John’s Auxilary & so on. School groups holding yard sales & the LUC Boys’ Ranch all need help & it’s a benefit to me to get stuff out of my house. Tax deductions too!

This year I decided to do something more meaningful to the recipients.

First up is my dear friend, Catelyn. I watched her grow up when her mom taught at our school & was in the room next to me for several years. They moved when Cate was a senior, but we’ve managed to stay in touch sporadically. A while back an engagement announcement for Catelyn & Luke was posted on Facebook. She & a friend exchanged information about wedding decorations & cool things found on Etsy. Many of them involved lace & pretty beading. Hmmmmm, I have lots of old lace, beaded pieces & hankies, gloves, flowers, pearls & other wedding type things that have just been sitting on a shelf. I got a bunch of them together, packed in a lovely old tin & shipped off to Cate at college in Texas. She didn’t have a clue that it was on the way.  I missed her call, but it was clear that she was delighted & overwhelmed by the gift. Yes!!! She promises pictures of the things she is doing. I finally got to talk to her today & she is having a ball making decorations & things for her wedding. Love it!!!

Next, I cleared out some fabric of mine & Betty’s. Another of my former students, Ashley, is creating neat clothes & accessories as a fundraiser to help them adopt a baby from Ethiopia. She has been posting wonderful pictures of decorated t-shirts, onesies & accessories . They are really cute! I went through my oversized stash of material & pulled out 2 boxes worth of stuff to send to her. I just told her a package was on its way……..

She wrote a cool blog post about it.

http://smithfamilylowdown.blogspot.com/2011/03/very-cool-gift.html

I don’t remember the caring incident, but I’m very glad she does!

The first picture Ashley posted of something made with the fabric is an apron given away on her blog & the winner was another former student also named Ashley! 2 for 1!! And this Ashley is anxiously awaiting the birth of a child they are adopting. Lots of happiness for Ashley #2.

Ashley's Apron for Ashley

In the previous post, I sent the first pair of mitts to my niece, Skye, in Montana. I also sent her a bunch of art papers, iron-on transfers & other things she can use for her art projects.

So, I have lessened my load of excess & shared it with those who will enjoy it & use the stuff. Win – win.

And I get my spirits lifted because of their joy!

2 responses to “Giving Is Good For My Spirit!

  1. I’m so glad I get to be a lucky recipient of some of your goodies! It makes my gift even more special!

  2. Wonderful! So looking forward to seeing pictures of your little one!

Leave a comment